Television, is it for teaching or for deception?

          kids-watch-tv-706

          I was reading an article in an Islamic website, which hit me into something that I usually do as a habit to kill most of my time, and still doing it! This is about watching television. For how many years, I have been so hooked up watching anime, and some other TV programs that could possibly entertain me. I love watching them because it gave me the feeling that I couldn’t experience in the real life. However, I didn’t realize the effect of too much consumption of this action until I got myself to the point of being locked up in a disorder that I didn’t even know it exist! From the articles which I have read, the following statements were being pointed out:

· television is like a drug
· when people sit down to watch TV, particularly for long periods, they tend to be in low moods
· The longer they watch, the less able they are to concentrate.
· As time goes on, they grow sadder, lonelier, more irritable, and more hostile.
· Television is a good tool for manipulating, not for teaching.

           Thinking about my observation, Television do really have a bad effect on its viewers. I wouldn’t deny that this kind of entertainment were somewhat helpful, but there should be a limitation that must be set up in relation to this. Watching TV, and spending longer in front of computer ads up more isolation within you and become more self-centered person. There is no real interaction with the society, all we have is our self and the idiot box in front of us, and this type of action were dangerous. A statement were also being stated in the article I was reading that caught my attention to and this was stated as follows;

“Television can titillate, it cannot teach. It can bring images into our heart, not ideas into our mind. It appeals to the emotions, not the intellect.”

          So, most probably watching TV, its main point was attracting the emotion of one’s individual while the brain is stock up and become more stagnant! One’s a heart become so crumpled, and destroyed within, most probably it will cause a very obvious side effect, and this thing could possibly leads to negative side effects. As an individual, I could possibly agree on this part! Television is more or less for deception, and not for an ideal of teaching!

Leave a Reply

