An Interview from a Teachers’ View

I-    Describe the characteristics of teacher as a person!

  • Teachers are the role model of the children. They are the hope of these young minds in their everyday life at school and the holder of their future. This is the reason why teacher should adopt a certain philosophy, value and a good moral act. She/he is the example of every child in every section that s/he handles.  Being a teacher is not an easy profession, because you must possess that kind of thing were you need to master and know things for your children. According to other people, teachers are the jack of all trade but master of nothing. They indeed play the entire role in class like being a teacher, mother, father, counselor, friend, family and a lot of stuff. They were being look up to by them. In his/her shoulder rest the quality of what her/his students will become in the future. For this reason as person, all teachers need to adopt a certain value that they could apply. They can do this through exercising of learning so many things and explore experiences. Seeing and feeling things in every different perspective are where you can find and acquired the ideal value that you wanted. Locking up yourself within the four wall of your room will never lead you to somewhere more fruitful because teaching is a lifelong learning process. The teacher must have a goal. One goal that they could possibly adopt is to commit oneself with excellence and not just doing the “pwede na” mentality

II-    Result of Interview

  • As a student of Educ 21s, the following interviewees were teachers of AKIC-SLS where we conduct our field studies. Two of these teachers that I will be mentioning are already finished their master and one is still on progress. The following are the names, who gave their spare time to answer the questions that I did prepared;

I am very sorry for not posting the names of my interviewee due to private issue.

      Teacher I

      Teacher II

      Teacher III

I did enumerate all the answers of these teachers accordingly in one number. As you observed in the labeled above, where somehow will help you to determine who answered that specific question.

  1. 1.       Why did you choose teaching as your profession out of million professions available? What interest you about this job

      Teacher I- I did not choose to become a teacher. The teaching profession chose me. Only in the recent years that I realized that “I trod the righteous path”. We are the “faceless” and “unsung” (unknown) builders of the future. If farmers ‘grow trees’, we teachers ‘raise people!

      Teacher II – It’s my dream to be a teacher. It started when my adviser in grade II asked me to help my classmates read our lecture that was written on the board. When I see the smiles of my classmates. I told to myself that they can read because of me. Then I, start dreaming to be a teacher.

      Teacher III – I wanted to try out d noblest profession as they said.

  1. 2.       What was the most satisfying moment throughout your student teaching?

      Teacher I – I have had students in High Scholl before who are now professionals. Last October, the new accountant of AKIC was introduced to me. He was very thankful for all that he had learned from me. He proudly said that part of his success for passing the licensure is me. Wow, what could be more gratifying?

      Teacher II- When my students understand my discussion. If I give a quiz and almost all the students answered correctly. Also, when the struggler students understand my lesson and got a passing grade at the end of the quarter, it is really satisfying in my part.

      Teacher III- Most satisfying moment was upon managing my time as a student and at d same time as a teacher.

  1. 3.       How do you handle stress and pressure in your profession?

      Teacher I- Being a principal entails loads of responsibilities and tremendous pressure and stress. Under these circumstances, I HEAT up. I double my effort to meet the challenge. I do not want to stair my immaculate service record because your honor and your good reputation is why people hire you.

      Teacher II- I make sure to be always calm in everything. If I’m too stressing  at the end of the day, I’ll go somewhere else where I can eat. If my work pressured me, I usually set my mind to just chill and do things slowly but surely.

      Teacher III- By asking Allah’s grace and guidance of course…work with pleasure and positivity.

  1. 4.       In your opinion, what are the biggest challenges that teachers face today?

      Teacher I – The biggest challenges that teachers face today is HOW TO COMPETE WITH SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY in terms of retaining the INTEREST of students in their lesson. We teachers have to compete with and sometime jealous of “DOTA”, video games, all phones, ipads, etc. Students as we all know are TECHIE, aren’t they?

      Teacher II – In my case, I’ll consider the following: 1.) Students’ behavior in the present generation, 2.) Being a global teacher to cope up with the rapid changes in our education system.

      Teacher III – Biggest challenges! The changing grading system every now and then, from RBEC to K-12 curriculum. Lack of trainings and facilities.

  1. 5.       What is your definition of a life-long learner? How can you promote life-long learning in your classroom?

      Teacher I – Lifelong learning is sustainable learning. It is learning that will last for a lifetime. This can be done by experiential approach or learning by doing. If a student participate gets involved in an activity then it will take a long time to forget.

      Teacher II – Lifelong learner. It is when the students can transfer his/her learning in the classroom outside or in his/her daily activities. If the students understand the importance of the lesson in the real-life and he/she can perform it, that’s already a life-long learning. In my classroom, I actually give examples where the students will be the one to explain it. In that way, the student is already practicing or processing in her mind the importance of that topic through the given examples. If you observed, I do not do much of the talking/discussion, my students does.

      Teacher III- To promote lifelong learning is to facilitate the class with the 21st century skills

One thought on “An Interview from a Teachers’ View

Leave a Reply

