Life is not a wishing factory

image

Last night after we had our review at slrc, together with my friend Khikz, we went to a cinema and decided to watch the movie entitled “The Fault in our Stars.” The story is narrated by a sixteen-year-old cancer patient named Hazel, who is forced by her parents to attend a support group, where she subsequently meets and falls in love with the seventeen-year-old Augustus Waters, an ex-basketball player and amputee. The story itself is really a heart warming kind as it tells about a life where hope should prevail despite of hardship through disability or lacking in ones ownself. There were two quotes that I did catch along the certain situations. One of this is:

“Pain is meant to be felt”

I encounter this when Hazel Grace was at a certain cafe, holding a book while looking at those two lovers happily kissing. Upon looking at them, Hazel wander and as I interpret the way she looks at them. Maybe she is thinking and wishing to be normal like those two, whom can fall in love, and do things normally. I felt this sentiment on her side that she felt envy towards other people who can do things normally, while her who do acts in limited action due to her condition. This situation is not only applicable for those people who are disabled but also applicable in every human being. Happiness is not always the feeling that we meant to feel in this one life time journey because along with this is an attachment of pain. A pain that is meant to be felt. From my own experience, I never felt pain in my entire life except the pain that I had felt starting years ago (this pertains to my emotional state), and until now, it torments me. I try to resist it, but it never fades away. What I did realize is that just go on living. Thinking about the problems over and over again will just give us pain.

“Life is not a Wish Factory.”

This quotation was mentioned by Augustus Waters during their conversation with Hazel at Amsterdam near the river. As a person, I sometimes wish for something not feasible. I am worked up in believing about a fairy tale story, and a lot more which give me joys but when one hit his/her head with a hard knock out of truth, there I am reminded that this is reality. Back then I was hoping for a fairy tale love story, but life did give me the opposite. I could say that not every wish is meant to happen.

The stories in the movie, has their own bases. As what I have said to someone close to me, every movie has a basis which relates with the real life story. This is why you cannot judge easily a movie on how they were created because everything has their own story. Over all, the story is a mellow type of a movie where everyone can be moved by the story itself.

Leave a Reply

