Licensure Examination Experience

There were articles I had written the last few months ago about the story how I ended myself in pursuing education as one of my interest. Now, I’ve experienced so many things along with it, and some of these were already in scripted in some pages of this website. So, here I am, going to tell my experience on how I go through a long series of process in order to reach the point where I need to attend the LET examination and ended up taking them.

I’ve started my review last 2014 of April, along with my friends at St. Louis Review Center. I thought of reviewing at that said center for me to recall everything that I did learned when I was in my elementary and secondary age. Being in the confinement of the office for almost 5 years, it take my basic knowledge away from this memory of mine. Replenishing those information is needed, especially now that aging process is lurking along the way. The memory itself is starting to deteriorate if it is not well trained, and reviewing is the best option to suppress the unexpected events when someone is planning to take the LET Examination. This is why I took the risk in segregating my time for this task. It take my Saturday and Sunday time to go there and review. I was pleased by the schedule because we were mixed together with those freshly graduate of some universities/colleges within Iligan City. In those time, I was hoping not to be mixed up together with the meranao students, because as far as everyone’s know, nobody know about my plan. I guess, I am one of those typical person who undergone with a secondary courses and now kind of hesitating to tell everyone else, unless they did pass the examination mentioned. For almost 4 months, I’ve been busy with my work and my schedule for review. The time was ticking so swiftly that I almost forgot my other worries. God has been so kind to us since the examination were being moved from July 27, 2014 to August 17, 2014. There might be a reason for this event to happen besides the reason from the Catholic side why the exam ended up in a cancellation. This gave us plenty of time to prepare more in the exam. Along those days, I did realized that I didn’t made a mistake in reviewing at the said center, because it did gave me time to read, relearn and experience about this situation.

Before the exam, we did had a hard time getting our grades to be completed because one of our teacher didn’t gave our grade on time. For this reason we’ve waited days before she did gave us, and the filing of the examination were more or less 6 days before its deadline. Upon receiving the information of the completed grades, I didn’t hesitate to be absent on the first day of working days to settle things ahead. I did go to Saint Michael College in order for me to complete everything to get my Transcript of Records. I went to the Dean requesting my TOR, and gave me some instruction to complete. In addition with the prescribed requirements, one of this was paying our balance at the review center as to get certificate coming from SLRC. Upon knowing, it revealed to us that SMC and SLRC were somehow connected with each other. Having no choice, we ended up paying 4,000. That afternoon of Monday, we submitted the certificate from SLRC, together with the signed permit at the registrar. Giving them those papers, we were informed that they will be giving us a message after our TOR has been made. After three or four hours, we were pleased upon telling us that it was already had been finished.

Three days after its completion my friends and I have decided to go at the PRC office to file our papers for the Licensure Examination. We did bring the following requirements:

  1. Original and photocopies of Transcript of Records with Special Order and Date of Graduation, with scanned pictures and with remarks “FOR BOARD EXAMINATION PURPOSE ONLY”. Graduates of government schools and institutions/programs accredited by recognized accredited agencies under the FAAP are exempted from SO. Graduates of New Schools/Degree Programs must submit School Recognition and/or Permit to operate.
  2. Original and photocopy of NSO-issued Birth Certificate (if NSO copy is not clear, bring copy from the Local Civil Registrar)
  3. For married females, original and photocopies of NSO-issued Marriage Contract (if NSO copy is not clear, bring copy from Local Civil Registrar)
  4. Two (2) passport size colored with white background and complete name tag.
  5. Current Community Tax Certificate (Cedula)
  6. Other specific requirements are required by the Commission or the Professional Regulatory Board.

We did get there early at around 6 in the morning and hoping to be the first in line. However, arriving there after 2 hours of travelling, there were so many people in lined. I ended up getting 2k plus as a number. We’ve waited outside for one hour to be called. At that day many people were at PRC, some of them were renewing their license and many of the people were filing for the LET EXAM, just like us. We did get through with another line, as we get nearer to the front desk who would check our papers, we assured that our requirements were not lacking. As I was being entertained that moment, I was praying that everything about my documents were all complete. It didn’t take us much time for that clearing and all three of us were finished after paying a full amount of 900. The cashier told us that the NOA and the receipts will be given to us a week before the examination. We left a relief, and relaxed from the travel and the stress from filing our documents with a nice window shopping at Limketkai Shopping Center.

More than 30 days before the examination, all of us were tensed for the exam. We continued our review during Saturday and Sunday. Whereas the days were fast ticking, I thought of having a self-review after office. Someone did advised me to review because it’s not a 100 percent that everything in the review will come up. Days after days after days, I continued the self-review. I know that I didn’t totally focus, but I do know that I did review as much as my interest arises. I believe that forcing yourself too much will do no good. There were so many things playing along inside my mind along the way. I did tried to counter those negative thoughts that encircling my mind, by thinking of doing the best as I can to motivate myself. I did set up from these brain of mine that I need to pass the exam as to not waste my time from studying for 6 months plus 3 or 4 months of review. I already used up my time and energy doing this things along the way. As the days passed, there encountered changes happen, and one of this were my office schedule. I was assigned at Marawi Service Desk by my own agency, and then later on had an office scheduled of Sunday to Thursday, which caused me to decide to move my review from Saturday-Sunday to Friday-Saturday, as I’ve asked permission to Sir Ken about my plan, he told me that it’s too late for me to do this since the exam was getting nearer. For this reason, I don’t have the choice but to review only on Saturday, and excuse myself during Sunday.

Calendar

Seventeen days before the examination, I’ve decided to go to Cagayan de Oro to get my NOA together with my friends NOA. Since I was there, I already reserved for a hotel for us to stay in. I went to Will Shire HOTEL to settle for a reservation, but unfortunately they were already full on those dates I did mentioned. I was left with no choice and make a reservation at AMAREA HOTEL which is fortunately did accommodate us for the reservation on those two dates I did prefer. I paid 795 for a one day reservations, and the next day as per mentioned will be paid on the exact date after Friday.

Amarea Hotel

Amarea Hotel

NOA for LET

NOA for LET

Receipts

Receipts

The hours were ticking and the days were changing. As I crossed those days from my calendar before August 17, I did feel tensed each day. When the day arrived, it was August 15, 2014, me and my friend went ahead in order to catch Friday prayer at CDO. We’ve stayed there for two days, while two of my friends had a rigorous flash back of all the review we did back then. As for me, I choose to relax. We all did aside from reviewing were window shopping, buy foods, and more important one is sleeping. We did all this just to relax from our wary minds. Before the exam, I and my friend went to our designated room as to know where our room is before the examination. The PRC already written the things to be needed before the exam.

A Reminder

A Reminder

Rooms at Bulua Nat'l High School

Rooms at Bulua Nat’l High School

Front Gate

Front Gate

Rooms

Set for the examinee

Set for the examinee

Studying Tandem...

Studying Tandem…

We didn’t noticed that the day was up. We wake up ourselves at around 3:30 in the morning; review a little bit, eat our breakfast, take a bathe and prepare our things. I was the one who got out since I was assigned at BULUA NATIONAL HIGHSCHOOL which was far from the center. I was so thankful that when I got out at the hotel, a taxi was already have been there, and asked him to get me at the school I’ve been assigned to. Upon arriving, there were so many people in waiting to open the gate. I’ve seen one of my acquaintance, who was familiar to me, but never knew her name. She questioned me while we were both waiting, but it was so fortunate that a friend of mine was there, calling for me. I was relief when she does that because that girl I meet were starting to ask about my workplace, which I don’t want to be much open about it when I am in different situation. We talked with Ms Faida together with her friend about so many things in regard with the LET exams. While waiting there for almost 45 minutes, the door opened and each of us went to our designated room were assigned to. I was amazed the first day I saw my room assignment since all the numbers in seeing were all in 17. Date was August 17, my room was 17, seat number 17 and my name was written on page 17. What a coincidence, I say!

All in Seventeen!

All in Seventeen!

The schedule is all written in this way:

Schedule for the Examination

Schedule for the Examination

General Instruction for the examinee

General Instruction for the examinee

The examination went well after hours of taking them. I could say, I did well on the General and Professional Education but the Specialization were kind of a nose bleed. From the 2,500 test questions we did take at the review center for this specialization area, I ended up only three question similar from our review and everything I did used was stock knowledge. As I review my test paper for second time around that day, I was confident that I did my best, and the only thing left for me is to hope for a positive result for the examination. For those people who is reading this blog of mine. Wish me and everyone who take the test a Good luck!

Leave a Reply

